Are you a pit dweller?

10 03 2009

Excuse me?  Are you a pit dweller?  No, I don’t mean stuck in a hole somewhere – I mean a spiritual pit, a mental pit.  Let me define it for you (all credit for this goes to Beth Moore – from Get Out of that Pit!):

  1. Are you stuck????   Do you feel trapped??  Do you think you can’t get much lower and instead you do – Beth made a point that you can’t live at maintenance level in a pit  She says that we can’t get ourselves out of the pit.
  2. Can you stand?  Beth – “If you and I are going to be victorious people we’ve got to stand with our town own two feet on solid ground…Drawing from the figurative application, we’ll define pit this way: a pit is an early grave that Satan’s digs for you in hopes he can bury you alive. Should you fall into it, make no mistake, HE CANNOT make you stay.  Ironically, neither will God make you leave. LIKE IT OR NOT, some things are simply up to us.
  3. Do you have vision?  A pit is so poorly lit that things that seem so obvious to us and one time doesn’t seem like it during the time we are a pit dweller.     We lose hope – we feel so buried in our present state to feel passionate about a promised futre.  We are here with purpose – God didn’t create us to go through the motions – God meant us to be part of something bigger than we are, something vital.

I know all about pits I have been in one and it was a struggle to get out – but thanks to some awesome sisters in Christ I got out.  I stopped looking at my feet and see them sinking and sinking and sinking – I was thrown into a pit  when I was young due to some cruel things that was said to me by peers and my folks not realizing how hurt I was – I DEFINITELY was a pit dweller.  I loved the pit – it was the only thing I knew but two sisters came a long side me and loved me in two totally different ways – one challenged me to change and the other walked with me while I was getting out of the pit.    I got out of the pit when I realized there was hope – I didn’t have to hurt anymore – I could forgive and get out of the pit.  I had some tough cards to deal with but God brought me through it.  I am so thankful for the last few years and those women who walked with me.  I still need to stop being a pit dweller when tough cards come my way….

I will write more as I read Get Out of that Pit by Beth Moore!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

