Tight Fist of Fear

1 03 2009

“And if I perish, I perish” – Queen Esther.

How would you react if you got a message where they are going to wipe out your entire race and you need to approach the person who ordered it? Of course, I would be scared to death.  That is the challenge that Queen Esther had and after she fasted and prayed for three days she was willing to go to the King with this saying – “if I perish, I perish”.

Beth Moore opened my eyes to the fact that fear sometimes determines what we do and don’t for the Kingdom.  I know that is true in my life and fears such as rejection and I might fail pop up in my head.  This week I really realized this truth in my life.  Moore made some good points in her video.  There were two points that really captured my heart and my head.  Esther had a choice.  Esther had the choice whether or not to approach the King.  I have the choice to face my fear.  I have the choice – I can determine the course I go.  Moore said we don’t have to do the same old thing.  I think about my heart and my passion and what I would love to do yet I don’t step up because I fear the answer “NO”.  What a chicken I am!  Moore said we can protect ourselves right out of our calling.  I know the next step for me.  I also fear the answer “GO FOR IT”.  I fear failure.  I fear falling on my face especially when it comes to ministry.  So, I have some growth in this area to do!  I have to overcome myself in order to do what God had created my to do.  God is so incredibly patient and loving towards me.

The next point is awesome – Esther took the courage she was offered.  Jesus offered us courage.  The question I have to answer in my life is – will I take the courage or will be held in a tight fist of fear?  I remember the story that Mark 6 has and how Jesus said “Take courage!  It is I.  Don’t be afraid”  If God really has called me to something – don’t you think he will make a way.

I pray that this lesson will change my life after all that is what scripture is suppose to do – change our life!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

