Have we?

2 08 2008

Have we become so used to people exhorting us in the word of God that when a true teaching moment comes we get disappointed and bored????

I just got done with a gift Study and learned there is a big difference.  Exhorting encourages us to apply what we have learned while teaching goes into the meaning and the history of Words.  At my old church I felt like he taught the Word of God but didn’t exhort us into living a more Godly life.  At my current church I feel like they teach us how to apply the Word of God without getting into the history and meaning of the words in the passage. I would prefer exhortation but I also value a good teaching moment once in a while.  I think that is the beauty of Christ – we all have gifts so we can know Christ!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

