Gazelle Intensity :)

12 05 2007

Okay, so I haven’t posted in a long time so I wanted to post something that really charged me up this week – besides some great learning in a Beth Moore study I am doing on my own.

Alot of people are probably familiar with Dave Ramsey – well I want to his live event at Municipal last Saturday (10,000 people were there – sold out event).  I was encouraged to go by a friend and it was the best 19 dollars spent by me in a long time.  It gave me a plan to save, pay off debt, invest, and give.  I haven’t laughed so hard in a long time.  The one main thing is the intensity by which he said that I have to go after debt (I had to laugh though – he said something about a student loan being around so long that it became a family pet).  Gazelle Intensity – run like crazy.  God says a borrower is servant to the lender – SO TRUE!!  I am on Baby Step 1 and will be going to Step 2 soon – Lord willing!

I am doing  Too Busy Not to Pray in my Life Group and it talked about focusing on God and not the problem – I think that is a good reminder considering what my church is going through right.  I am focusing on the mountain-mover instead of the mountain.

Actions

Information

6 responses

7 09 2009
ajbarker

I like Ramsey’s “Gazelle Intensity” line too! My wife and I read the book and really enjoyed it. It has a lot of practical information but I really don’t agree with his emphasis on getting lots and lots of cash. I think he is getting caught up in the American Dream and is missing the fact that God says it is harder for a rich man to enter the kingdom of God than for a camel to fit through the eye of a needle. Yes, he mentions God and giving to the church and others but the overwhelming goal of his steps is to become wealthy and enjoy life. I don’t see Jesus teaching that.

7 09 2009
tageis

I would encourage you to look at Proverbs 6, 13,22. As far as building wealth, if you look at Proverbs 13 it says – “a good man leaves an inheritance for his children’s children”.

7 09 2009
Andy

Proverbs has some awesome things to say about money but it doesn’t say to store up for yourselves massive amounts of cash as Dave Ramsey promotes. Are you saying that a man who does not make so much money that his children’s children get some is a bad man? Now, notice how the line after that says “But the wealth of the sinner is stored up for the righteous.” If you take that verse literally then you could say that a good man, by teaching his children and grandchildren to be righteous, is leaving an inheritance for them because the wicked man’s money will go to them. Look at the commentary here: http://www.searchgodsword.org/com/jfb/view.cgi?book=pr&chapter=013
From what I can gather it simply means that wealth gained legitimately will remain in the family but ill-gotten gains will not.

7 09 2009
tageis

Andy, I did not mean to stir up a debate. I don’t want tons of money…I do think debt is slavery though and it keeps you from doing things with your money that are God honoring.

8 09 2009
Andrew

🙂 I don’t want to debate either. I just said Dave Ramsey talks about getting tons of cash and I don’t think that’s the best thing to be shooting for as a Christian. I hate debt and agree with you that it is slavery and we should avoid debt as much as possible. Have a wonderful day!

8 09 2009
tageis

Andrew, I don’t think that is the heart of his teaching. What he wants us to do is be responsible with our money.

Leave a Reply

